Carver’s Steaks & Seafood

Carver's Steaks & Seafood

Carver's Steaks & Seafood

On a spur-of-the-moment dinner date I was quickly trying to think of some places I could go that I had never been to before, or at least had never reviewed, and I wanted it to be nicer than some fast food restaurant.  I asked around and a buddy of mine suggested Carver’s Steaks & Seafood, I had been before but it had been a few years since my last visit.  Some Surf and Turf really sounded nice so the decision was easy.

We got to Carver’s at 7pm on a Wednesday, I assumed it would be fairly slow but the parking lot was almost full, I was a little shocked but I also know that this can be a good sign.  We walked in and they had nice lighting in the spacious entry way, the hostess quickly got our names down and seated us within minutes.  We were brought water almost as soon as we sat down and our waiter was over soon after to get us some drinks.  I was really liking how quick they were being about things even though they were busy.

Filet MignonWe placed our orders and as I always, if there is a shrimp cocktail on the menu I am going to order it.  Within minutes our waiter was bringing out our salads, we ordered the Romaine Salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette and the Spinach Salad with Honey Mustard Dressing.  I don’t normally get excited about salads but I tried both and these were two of the best salads I have had, very good but light enough that it didn’t overwhelm before getting the entree.  For our entrees we ordered the Filet Mignon and the Coconut Shrimp with the sweet coconut, firehouse sauce.  The steak was amazing from the first bite, cooked to perfection with an amazing flavor to it, this is the best steak I have had in years.  It was both tender and yet dense, I hope that makes sense but maybe you just have to try it to understand what I am talking about.  The Coconut shrimp was great but the sweet coconut, firehouse sauce was the icing on the cake, a wonderful mixing of sweet and spicy.  I was extremely pleased with our meals and it took a lot of willpower to stop eating once I was full.

As full as I was I still had to order a dessert, that’s just how I was raised.  We looked over their dessert menu and there were a lot of tasty looking “puddings” (that was for my Brit friends ;)) to choose from.  After a few minutes we settled on the Berry Streusel Cheesecake, not fully knowing what this would taste like but how can you go wrong with that choice.  The cheesecake was as great as we expected and we finished it off even after deciding we would just take one bite each and then take the rest home.

A great night out at a great restaurant.  The price is steep but the food is well worth it, I wouldn’t suggest taking the kiddies but for an evening out with a date or your fancy friends, Carver’s would be a classy choice.  After my favorite steak house closed it’s Downtown location I have been on the lookout for a nice replacement, it looks like I just found it.

Carver’s Steaks & Seafood:
www.carversutah.com

The ChinWag Visited Carver’s Steaks & Seafood At:
10720 Holiday Park Drive
Sandy, UT 84070
801-572-5177

Leave a Reply

