Thai Village

Thai Village

One of my favorite foods is curry, especially Thai curry, so having a Thai restaurant in my home town should be a good thing.  Don’t get me wrong, they have some great food here but the one thing it lacks is a spicy kick.  It almost feels like the are holding back for the sake of us “town folk”, maybe that is the right thing to do for their business but the missing heat is what keeps this little restaurant down, at least in my book.  If you like curry but don’t necessarily like spicy food this is the place for you.

Thai Village is in a nice location, it is on Main Street but far enough away from other businesses to give it that hole-in-the-wall type of feel.  It is in an old converted house and really has a nice atmosphere to it.  The people there are friendly and they even have an outside porch that you can be sat at when the weather is nice.  The menu is rather large and there are many traditionally thai dishes as well as some that were unique to me.  On my last visit I ordered the Yellow Curry, my favorite, and while good it just could not stack up against the same dish at my favorite Thai Restaurant.  The Yellow curry was too sweet in my opinion but still good, I let a few other people try it just to make sure I wasn’t letting past experiences cloud my judgement.  The vegetables serve in the curry were also quite tasty, fresh tasting and it really added to the meal.  In the past I have also had their Masaman Curry and the Cashew Chicken dish.  The only thing I have tried that I didn’t really care for were the Fresh Rolls (appetizer) but I have never had much of a taste for those.

So the all important question is, do I recommend Thai Village to my readers… yes I do, at least for those of you looking for Thai food in Utah County.  I know I will be visiting again, I am looking forward to trying the Pumpkin Curry and the Shrimp Rolls.  Try visiting on a warm night and see if you can get seating outside, it makes the meal that much better.

Thai Village:
www.thaivillageaf.com

The ChinWag Visited Thai Village At:
208 West Main St.
American Fork, UT 84003
801-492-7677

Comments
One Response to “Thai Village”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] (LDS Food Critic), India House (WWJD), Eggs In The City (In Utah), Tiburon (The Foodworks), Thai Village (The Chin Wag), Ekamai Thai (Vinatge Mixer), Scaddy’s (SLC Examiner), Red Moose (In Utah), […]



Leave a Reply

