Gun Barrel

Gun Barrel Steak & Game House

I like spending time in St. George, UT when my schedule permits it and one of my favorite things to do when spending time here is to try new restaurants in the area.  One of my favorite places to eat in St. George is at the Gun Barrel, it is a steak and game house that prides themselves on a wide selection of meats and an in-house grill that is visible from the dining area.

The atmosphere is very cool, with stuffed animals adorning the walls it almost feels like they have employees on staff out shooting game while you are eating.  It has a darkened dining area with a warm glow to it, and oak furnishings as far as the eye can see.  The staff is always very friendly and they take reservations so I haven’t ever had much of a wait, even on the weekends.

Steak and Mushrooms

I usually order the steak when I dine at Gun Barrel but I have had the Game Platter and Ribs as well.  The Game Platter has a nice assortment of meat and is very filling, the Ribs are delicious, tender and bathed in a nice BBQ sauce, but the steak is drool worthy.  I have tried a few of the different options but my favorite regular item is the Cheyenne Tenderloin, it is a nice large steak that is very tender, easy to cut into and just melts.  Now, notice I said my favorite regular item, one time I went there and they had this steak on special, I think it was called The Ranger and I can say it was the best steak in any steakhouse I have ever been to.

Shrimp Cocktail

Just a small note on desert and one of the appetizers, their shrimp cocktail is delicious.  Large, plumb, chilled shrimp with a nice spicy cocktail sauce, if you are a fan of shrimp cocktail and you are at the Gun Barrel I highly recommend it.  Now the deserts, I am not the biggest desert guy but I will tell you that the cheesecake is tasty, it is light and fluffy with a nice crust.  So two strong recommendations here, the shrimp and the cheesecake, nice bookends to the meal.

This restaurant gets my seal of approval, if you are in St. George give it a try, you won’t regret it.

Note: Recently my Brother and Sister-In-Law took a trip in and ordered Chicken and Fish dishes, they were not impressed. I can honestly say that I have only ever eaten the Steak here and that is what my recommendation  is based on. Feel free to share your experiences with me in the comments if you have a chance to visit Gun Barrel.

Gun Barrel Steak & Game House:
http://www.gunbarrelut.com/

The ChinWag Visited Gun Barrel At:
1091 North Bluff Street
St. George, UT 84770
435-652-0550

Comments
One Response to “Gun Barrel”
  1. Cheryl says:

    Mmmmm Delicious!!! Can we go to St. George sometime, so that I can eat yumy steak and cheesecake? Its been far too long since we have been there!!!

Leave a Reply

