Virg’s

Welcome to Virg's

Welcome to Virg's

I am told that Virg’s was started out of Erda, Utah, but the first time I visited I went to the old Salt Lake City location on State St.  It was a small, hole-in-the-wall type of place and was decorated like a small bait shop you would find on far away beaches filled with old fishermen with stories to tell.  The place was ran by two guys, one frying everything you ordered and the other helping customers.  They had an old tip jar labeled “Virg’s 401K”, this restaurant had charm coming out the ears.  This is when I think it was at its best.  Since that first visit they have moved to a bigger location, they converted an old Winger’s and tried their hardest to give it a similar feel.  Try as they might, in my opinion the old location cannot be replicated.  They can support more customers but they have to use waitresses to do so.  In the current location you are eating lunch with 30-50 other people seated around you, the old location could sit 8-10 on a good day.

While I think it has lost some of its charm, the Fish & Chips have remained the same.  They have even added to their menu now that they have a bigger kitchen, it is an odd menu with anything from breakfast, to mexican food, to the Fish & Chips and everything in between.  The fish they serve are Cod, Halibut, Shrimp and even though it is not seafood they serve a Chicken & Chips, a nice substitute for those seafood haters out there.  The Fish & Chips are great but be warned this place is not for the weak, it is extremely greasy!  If you know true Fish & Chips you understand that is how it works, you deal with the grease, accept the grease, learn to love the grease.  I am a little surprised at the amount of people put off by the grease, please understand that it is fried and you will likely end up with a plate of food that is all the exact same color.  So eat, enjoy, and I hope you didn’t have any big plans requiring you to stay awake for the rest of the day because it is going to sit with you for a bit.

Virg’s:

No Website

The ChinWag Visited Virg’s At:

5770 S. Redwood Rd.

Taylorsville, UT 84123

801-968-7180

Comments
3 Responses to “Virg’s”
  1. Kristen says:

    Every time I read your blog I get seriously hungry!! I’ve always wondered about Virg’s… did you know that place is right down the street from me and Josh?

    Can I put a request for a good Thai food restaurant? I fell in love with this great Thai place when we went to visit Seattle… so if you know any places let me know!!

    Great job Dave keep it up 🙂

  2. darmstrong says:

    Thanks for reading, I didn’t know you and Josh were over there. That is cool. I am glad that my blog makes you hungry, I enjoy telling people about good food, it is fun plus I enjoy writing.

    I reviewed my favorite Thai place already, Chanon Thai Cafe: https://thechinwag.wordpress.com/2009/08/14/chanon-thai-cafe/

    Another one I really like is Tasty Thai on 13th S. it is really good, I was planning on doing a review for that one but haven’t gotten around to it yet.

    I have been to a couple of other decent ones but I think those two are aces. Give them a shot and tell me what you think. If you want me to look closer to where you are (live or work) give me a main street and I will try to find some time to locate a place and check it out.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Bay Leaf Cafe (Vintage Mixer), Road Island Diner (City Weekly), Tasty Thai (In Utah This Week), Virg’s (The Chin Wag), Forage (SL Magazine), Nuch’s Pizzeria (Vintage Mixer), Sapa (Deseret News), […]



Leave a Reply

