Lon’s Cookin’ Shack

Lon's Cookin' Shack

My friend and I decided to leave for dinner a little later than normal and we knew our options for Restaurants were dwindling by the minute.  We drove up State Street in Orem with thoughts of BBQ dancing in our heads.  We passed by a few places that had been closed down and almost didn’t stop as we passed by Lon’s Cookin’ Shack, due to the fact that we didn’t see any cars parked outside.  Even with the lack of visual cues that Lon’s was open we decided to stop and check.

We walked into the “Shack” and I mist admit we were a bit surprised at how clean it was inside.  It was getting late so the Dinner rush had come and gone, this left us with a clean and empty eating area but there were some drawbacks as well.  Ordering our food this close to closing time proved difficult.  Many of the options available on the menu were “out” so we did have to settle a little bit on our food choices.

BBQ Pork and Chicken, Potato Salad, and Beans.

BBQ Pork and Chicken, Potato Salad, and Beans.

I ordered the BBQ Pork and Chicken meal and for my sides I settled on Potato Salad and Beans.  Originally I had asked for the Mashed Potatoes but to the establishments credit, he warned me that it was the last of the batch and he could serve them to me but suggested I order a different side.  I liked the honesty, he cared about what he served his customers.

Sitting down to eat my meal, I was directed to a tub of sauces that i had to choose from.  I selected a basic BBQ sauce and began eating.  The food was good, surprising so, considering how close to closing time we ordered our food.  The BBQ Pork was tender and had a nice salty BBQ flavor to it, not too strong but enough to remind you why pork is always best served BBQ style.  The chicken was moist but needed some extra BBQ sauce to give it that extra kick it needed.  The sides were average, I didn’t enjoy the Potato salad but it was more of a style problem than an issue with the quality of the salad.  I enjoy a basic Potato Salad with Mayo and very little mustard, this salad was the opposite of what my taste buds have grown to love.

Everything said and done, I liked the restaurant.  It was a nice atmosphere and the food was good.  It is not the best BBQ I have had in the state but I did enjoy it and I would recommend it to somebody looking for BBQ in Orem.  I am considering another trip to Lon’s Cookin’ Shack (during the dinner rush) to see what I was missing the first time, I would have already but I have new places to try.

Lon’s Cookin’ Shack
http://www.lonscookinshack.com/

The ChinWag Visited Lon’s Cookin’ Shack at:

608 North State Street
Orem, UT

Leave a Reply

