The Point Restaurant

I was with one of my friends picking up a guitar that I was having restored and we were looking for a place to eat.  He said he knew of a place but I was going to have to trust him, I said I did and he directed me to our destination.  I pose this question to you; would you hesitate visiting a restaurant with the following description:

“Benefit from meals that are fresh, healthy, delicious, affordable, and served in a beautiful environment. Nestled against the foothills of the Wasatch Mountains, these dining locations offer breathtaking views of the Salt Lake Valley.”

Now, what would you say if I told you that this restaurant was The Point located on the 6th floor of Huntsman Cancer Institute and Huntsman Cancer Hospital?  This restaurant is used for many great things including feeding cancer patients and there families healthy affordable meals.  It is also used for special events such as business meetings, wedding receptions, birthday parties, etc., they even cater!

One of the views from The Point Restaurant

One of the views from The Point Restaurant

The first thing I noticed as we entered the restaurant is that the views really are spectacular.  The menu is on a big black board at the entrance to the cafeteria.  There are a lot of options to choose from, both hot or cold meals. The restaurant is served cafeteria style, you grab a tray and walk up to one of the cooks and tell them what you want.  I ordered a Bacon Cheeseburger and I was surprised to see that they actually grilled the meat right in front of you, they gave me an option for the type of cheese I wanted and I waited while they cooked my meal.  Once the meal was done I walked to the cashier and paid for my meal, it was very cheap for the meal I got, not as cheap as fast food but than again this isn’t a fast food style restaurant.  I sat myself at a table overlooking the valley and started to dig in. The burger was pretty good and I was shocked at how fresh the produce tasted, crisp red onions and lettuce.  I was about halfway through my burger when I remembered to take a picture of my meal, so that is proof that I am getting better at this whole blogging thing 🙂

Bacon Cheeseburger with Fries

Bacon Cheeseburger with Fries

Would I recommend this restaurant?  Sure, it was good food at a great price and a lot better for you than a Fast Food joint, plus the view was amazing.  So if you are ever downtown and are looking for a place to grab a quick easy meal for a good price, remember The Point.

The Point
http://www.thepoint.hci.utah.edu/

The ChinWag Visited The Point Restaurant:

located on the 6th floor of Huntsman Cancer Institute and Huntsman Cancer Hospital

Comments
One Response to “The Point Restaurant”
  1. Cheryl says:

    That does sound like a great place to eat. You need to take me to all these places I hear so much about.

Leave a Reply

